Mappy Monday: 1843 Map of Luxembourg

In between researching a Luxembourg-Canadian family, I’ve been working an index for the 1843 census of Niederanven, Luxembourg. Since the 1843 census lists the individual’s birth place, it’s a valuable resource.  But I’m not from Luxembourg, so I don’t automatically recognize town names and transcribing them correctly poses a challenge.

Thankfully I’ve found at least one resource that can help. The David Rumsey Map Collection has an 1843 map of Luxembourg. It only lists a small number of towns, but it does provide me a starting point… And even better, it’s georeferenced. That means I can search for a modern name and find it on the historic map.  Hopefully it will help interpret your own ancestor’s records.

About Bryna O'Sullivan

A Connecticut-based professional genealogist, I love working with beginners of all backgrounds. I also do specialty research in Connecticut and Luxembourg-American genealogy.
This entry was posted in Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

