How to · Uncategorized

How do I find the parish records I need?: Those Places Thursday

I know where the ancestor I’m researching was born, thanks to his marriage record… but I can’t find the baptismal record, because the town isn’t listed on FamilySearch’s church record database. How do I find the right town?

The FamilySearch database only lists parishes by communes, so to find the right town, I need to find the commune it belongs to. Thankfully, there’s a resource that makes it easy to help. The Institut Grand-ducal has a gazetteer that lists not only the town name in French and German but also the commune to which it belongs.

With that commune name, I can go back to the church record and use the information I already have on the ancestor to look for more information on the ancestor and his parents. Happy hunting!

Leave a Reply

